Indy 500 preview: Villeneuve and Montoya return to strong field

Thursday May 22nd, 2014
Juan Pablo Montoya returns to Indianapolis after winning the race in 2000.
Tom Strattman/AP

• IndyCar's first-year technical formula created a 500 a year ago that set a record of 68 lead changes among 14 leaders with 26 cars running at the finish and a record speed of 187.433 miles per hour. With a year to work on the cars and engines, will we see the same kind of race? It's also an interesting question that will be answered Sunday.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.