Robert Laberge/Getty Images

Eight drivers have crashed at the Indy 500, including Tony Kanaan.

By SI Wire
May 19, 2015

Eight drivers have crashed at the Indy 500: Sage Karam, Bryan Clauson, Ed Carpenter, Oriol Servia, Jack Hawksworth, Sebastian Saavedra, Stefano Coletti and Tony Kanaan.

Kanaan, considered a contender to win the race, spun out into the wall on turn three of lap 153.

Karam, a 20-year-old rookie driver, crashed on the first lap after contact with Takuma Sato sent him into the wall going into the first turn.

Clauson crashed on turn 4 of lap 65, slamming into the wall and bringing the race under yellow.

Carpenter and Servia crashed after the former clipped the latter on lap 113 outside turn 1.

Hawksworth, Saavedra and Coletti were all involved in a major crash on turn 4 of lap 177.

Also during the race, James Davison hit two crew members from Tristan Vautier's team on pit road as he attempted to exit his stall. The accident damaged Davison's car enough to end his race. According to the broadcast, one member was conscious and taken off on a gurney and the other was taken away in an ambulance. Both cars drive for Dale Coyne racing.

These accidents come in the wake of several major crashes at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway during trial runs leading up to Saturday's race.

James Hinchcliffe underwent surgery after injuring his left upper thigh in a crash on turn 3 during a practice session Monday.

Ed Carpenter, the two-time defending pole-sitter, crashed in turn 2 in a practice run Sunday morning.

Last week, two more crashes occurred in turn 1: Helio Castroneves on Wednesday and Josef Newgarden Thursday.



You May Like