Hornaday, Roush, Rudd NASCAR Hall of Fame nominees

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (AP) — Ron Hornaday Jr., Jack Roush, Ricky Rudd, Ken Squier and Waddell Wilson are joining 15 holdovers as nominees for the 2017 NASCAR Hall of Fame class.

NASCAR announced the additions Wednesday.

Hornaday is a four-time Truck Series champion. Roush has the most owner wins (322) in NASCAR national series history. Rudd held the consecutive starts record until Jeff Gordon broke it last year. Squier is a legendary motorsports broadcasting pioneer. And Wilson is a three-time premier series champion engine builder and three-time Daytona 500-winning crew chief.

The returning nominees are Buddy Baker, Red Byron, Richard Childress, Ray Evernham, Ray Fox, Rick Hendrick, Harry Hyde, Alan Kulwicki, Mark Martin, Hershel McGriff, Raymond Parks, Benny Parsons, Larry Phillips, Mike Stefanik and Robert Yates.

From the 20-person nominee list, five inductees will be elected on May 25.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.