USC's Kiffin Fined for Comments Following Stanford Loss

Tuesday November 1st, 2011

University of Southern California coach Lane Kiffin was fined $10,000 for comments about the officiating in USC's triple overtime loss to Stanford Saturday, several media reports have indicated.

Kiffin was largely upset with the fact that his team wasn't granted a timeout at the end of regulation, even though he had alerted officials before the play that he wanted to use one at the conclusion of the play. Replays showed that a second remained when Trojans receiver Robert Woods was tackled, but no timeout was given. The ball was at Stanford's 33 yard line, and Kiffin hoped to attempt a game winning field goal.

Referee Michael Batlan defended his crew's decision, saying that an official must signify a timeout for it to take affect.

Batlan said after the game
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.