Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw Wins NL Cy Young Award

Friday November 18th, 2011

The Baseball Writers Association of America announced that Los Angeles Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw is the winner of the National League Cy Young Award. The 23-year-old beat out Phildelphia Phillies hurlers Roy Halladay and Cliff Lee.

The southpaw won the pitching Triple Crown by leading the league in wins (21), ERA (2.28), and strikeouts (248) much like American League Cy Young winner Justin Verlander.  This is just the fifth time in MLB history that a pair of pitchers accomplished this feat in the same year; the last time being in 1924 when Dazzy Vance and Walter Johnson achieved the feat.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.