Robert Griffin III Wins Heisman Trophy

Sunday December 11th, 2011

Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III won the Heisman Trophy in a ceremony on Saturday night, according to ESPN's Joe Schad. Griffin III had 405 first-place votes.

Griffin III led Baylor to a 9-3 record and #12 ranking this season while throwing for 3998 yards, 36 touchdowns and 6 interceptions. He also rushed for 644 yards and 9 touchdowns.

He is the first Baylor player to win the Heisman Trophy.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.