By Kimie Bunyasaranand
October 03, 2012

For the first time in Nats history, Teddy Roosevelt won the 4th inning Presidents Race, reports the Washington Post:

"After more than 500 attempts since the popular race debuted at RFK Stadium in the summer of 2006, the giant-headed mascot depicting the 26th President finally crossed the finish line first.

Teddy, last at the start of the race, won thanks to the Phillies mascot, who took out the other three Presidents."

Teddy's losses had garnered significant media coverage including an ESPN E:60 segment, a comment from Senator John McCain ("I’ve been paying a LOT of attention to the fact that one of the truly great presidents in history has NEVER won a race...I am outraged,") recognition on the front page of the Wall Street Journal, and an ABC World Night Tonight crew.

Baseball analysts on tweeted their reactions to the president's long over-due victory:

You May Like