By Alexander Abnos
March 07, 2013

Syracuse Georgetown Big East matchups like Syracuse-Georgetown will go away in the new Big East. (Nate Schron, Getty Images)

The Big East conference will announce an agreement with seven of its Catholic school members to separate on Thursday, according to a report on

According to the report, the seven schools - DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John's, and Villanova - will retain the Big East name and begin administration of the league on July 1. The new Big East is expected to add Butler, Xavier, and Creighton before the 2013-2014 season, with Dayton and St. Louis prime candidates to expand the league the following season.

You May Like