By Erin Weaver
February 01, 2014

Ray Guy is the first punter in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. (AP Images) Ray Guy is the first punter in the Pro Football Hall of Fame. (AP Images)

Seven candidates were selected for the 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame class on Saturday, after a meeting that lasted more than nine hours to select the seven from a pool of 15 modern finalists in stages.

The 2014 class includes Giants defensive end Michael Strahan, Buccaneers linebacker Derrick Brooks, Seahawks tackle Walter Jones, Cardinals and Rams cornerback Aeneas Williams and Bills wide receiver Andre Reed.

Two senior committee candidates -- Raiders punter Ray Guy and Falcons and Eagles defensive end Claude Humphrey -- were also included in this year's class.

SI WIRE: Morten Andersen: It’s time for a kicker or punter to make the Hall of Fame

The five candidates who made it to the final 10 but were cut before the final five will go back into the pool next year. That's a group that includes linebacker Kevin Greene, defensive end Charles Haley, running back Jerome Bettis, guard Will Shields and wide receiver Marvin Harrison.

They will be reconsidered next year, along with several deserving first-time eligible candidates: linebacker Junior Seau, quarterback Kurt Warner, wide receivers Torry Holt and Isaac Bruce, tackle Orlando Pace and running back Edgerrin James.

GALLERY: Best player by position not in the Hall of Fame

You May Like