By Alex Hampl
April 03, 2014

McDermott Doug McDermott, a three-time All-American, can now add AP player of the year to his resume. (Ronald Martinez/Getty)

The Associated Press announced its year-end college basketball awards Thursday, and Creighton forward Doug McDermott and Wichita State coach Gregg Marshall took home the hardware.

McDermott was named the AP's mens college basketball player of the year, collecting 64 out of 65 first-place votes. The margin was the largest in the history of the award, which dates back to 1960-61. Louisville guard Russ Smith received the only other first-place vote. McDermott, a three-time first-team All-America, led the nation in scoring with 26.9 points per game on 52.6% shooting, and 44.9% from three-point range. He also averaged seven rebounds per game while leading Creighton to a second-place finish in the Big East and a round of 32 appearance in the NCAA tournament.

DAVIS: Three questions for each Final Four matchup

You May Like