Lletget among 36 called to U.S. Under-20 camp

Publish date:

The U.S. begins a new Under-20 World Cup cycle on Wednesday when 36 players begin camp under the tutelage of Thomas Rongen in Chula Vista, Calif. The squad includes Sebastian Lletget of the West Ham United academy program. Lletget is one of four European-based players called into the camp.

Also called up is University of Virginia star Will Bates, who helped the Cavs win the 2009 NCAA Division I national championship. Kofi Sarkodie and Zarek Valentin of runner-up Akron will also be at the camp.

Central defender Gale Agbossoumonde and midfielder Dillon Powers are the only two players eligible for the 2011 U-20 World Cup who played on the U.S. 2009 U-20 World Cup team in Egypt.

Full list of call-ups:

Goalkeepers: Earl Edwards (Nomads SC; San Diego, Calif.); Justin Luthy (Boston College) Dublin, Ohio); Spencer Richey (Crossfire Premier; Seattle, Wash.)

Defenders: Gale Agbossoumonde (Miami FC; Syracuse, N.Y.); Paolo Del Piccolo (Univ. of Louisville; Lakewood, Colo.); Moises Hernandez (FC Dallas Juniors; Dallas); Zachary Herold (West Pines United; Port St. Lucie, Fla.); Perry Kitchen (Chicago Magic; Indianapolis, Ind.); Tyler Polak (CSA Legacy; Lincoln, Neb.); Kofi Sarkodie (Akron Univ.; Huber Heights, Ohio); Zarek Valentin (Akron Univ.; Lancaster, Pa.); Jared Watts (North Meck SC; Statesville, N.C.); Ethan White (Univ. of Maryland; Kensington, Md.); Cesar Zamora (Chivas USA; Sylmar, Calif.); Eriq Zavaleta (FC Pride; Westfield, Ind.)

Midfielders: Jose Altamirano (San Diego State Univ.; San Diego); Christian Castaneda (Hertha Berlin/GER; Lutz, Fla.); Marlon Duran (Latino Americana; Duncanville, Texas); Luis Gil (Pateadores; Garden Grove, Calif.); Sebastian Lletget (West Ham United/ENG; South San Francisco, Calif.); Andrew Lubahn (Wake Forest Univ.; Erie, Pa.); Carlos Martinez (Wilmington Jrs.; San Pedro, Calif.); Colin Murphy (Boston College; Guilderland, N.Y.); Amobi Okugo (UCLA; Sacramento, Calif.); Will Packwood (Birmingham City/ENG; Concord, Mass.); Nicholas Palodichuk (Washington Premier FC; Battleground, Wash.); Fabrice Picault (Cagliari/ITA; Miami, Fla.); Dillon Powers (Univ. of Notre Dame; Plano, Texas)

Forwards: Juan Agudelo (New York Red Bulls; Barnegat, N.J.); Will Bates (Univ. of Virginia; Chester, Va.); Tristan Bowen (Los Angeles Galaxy; Van Nuys, Calif.); Victor Chavez (Real So Cal; Fontana, Calif.); Ryan Finley (Duke; Lumberton, N.J.); Stefan Jerome (West Pines United; Davie, Fla.); Jack McInerney (Cobb SC; Alpharetta, Ga.); Dominick Sarle (BW Gottschee; Huntington, N.Y.)