Full information for the 2018 World Cup draw.

By Jeremy Woo
October 05, 2017

With the 2018 World Cup months away, the draw for the group stage will take place Friday, Dec. 1. 

Host country Russia will hold the draw inside the Moscow Kremlin. The draw will be televised and will also stream live online. 

The draw works as follows: The seven highest-ranked teams are given seeds along with the host country. The remaining teams are split into pots based on geography in order to distribute teams from the same qualification zones into separate groups.

Teams who have already qualified for the tournament are as follows: Russia, Belgium, Brazil, Iran, Japan, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, South Korea.

Qualification will be complete and the 32-team field finalized in late November as all confederations wrap up their respective schedules.

You May Like