By 90Min
October 30, 2019

Manchester City went one step closer to surpassing Chelsea's impressive streak of 18 Carabao Cup games without defeat after coasting past Southampton to reach the quarter-finals. 

Pep Guardiola's men took a two-goal lead into the half-time break, with Nicolas Otamendi and Sergio Aguero giving the hosts the advantage, before the Argentine striker doubled his tally on the hour-mark. 

Alex Livesey/GettyImages

After Man City's victory, Opta released the statistic revealing that the Premier League champions are now unbeaten in 14 Carabao Cup matches (W10 D4) – the last side to go on a longer streak were Chelsea, who had an 18-game run between October 2004 and February 2008.

Chelsea won the domestic trophy in the 2004/05 and 2006/07 seasons, beating Liverpool and Arsenal respectively in the finals, and were runners-up the following year. However, the Blues were knocked out of the competition in the third round during the 2005/06 campaign by Charlton, although their defeat came on penalties, allowing their unbeaten run in normal and extra-time to continue. Their streak was eventually ended by Tottenham in the 2007/08 final.

Man City's unbeaten streak remains intact after their home victory over the Saints on Tuesday evening, and they have the opportunity to win a third consecutive Carabao Cup trophy, which would take their run to 17 games - one behind Chelsea's record. 

Marc Atkins/GettyImages

Guardiola's side were triumphant in the 2017/18 and 2018/19 editions of the competition, battering Arsenal 3-0 in the former and edging past Chelsea on penalties in the latter. The last Carabao Cup defeat for Man City came at the hands of city rivals Manchester United, who won 1-0 in the fourth round in 2016/17.

Leicester City and Everton followed the current Carabao Cup holders into the quarter-final with victories over Burton Albion and Watford on Tuesday night, whilst only two of Liverpool, Arsenal, United and Chelsea can join them in Thursday morning's draw. 

You May Like