Skip to main content

Watch: Virgil Van Dijk Bullet Header Gives Liverpool Lead Against Crystal Palace

Having dominated from kick-off, Liverpool deservedly take the lead within ten minutes against Crystal Palace. Virgil Van Dijk bullets a header from a corner by Andy Robertson to make it 1-0 to the Reds.

Liverpool have started this match in dominant fashion, with attack after attack. The match has gone in the way of the Reds early on through a wonderful header from the ever-present Virgil Van Dijk.

After a couple of corners from the away side, one of them came up trumps. Andy Robertson with the cross met the towering run of the Dutch centre-back, who powered home his header with an emphatic finish. 

Liverpool take on Crystal Palace on Sunday afternoon in the Premier League and LFC Transfer Room can now bring you the confirmed line ups.

The match will be played at Selhurst Park and the game will kick-off at 2pm UK Time.

Liverpool will be on a high after beating Arsenal and qualifying for the Carabao Cup final where they will meet Chelsea at the end of February at Wembley.

There was a further boost yesterday when runaway Premier League leaders Manchester City dropped two points in a 1-1 draw away at Southampton.

The Reds are now twelve points behind Pep Guardiola's team but have two games in hand, the first of which is the game at Selhurst Park.

Scroll to Continue

Read More

Playing the Eagles away is never an easy game however and under Patrick Vieira, this promises to be a real battle for the three points.

Crystal Palace Starting XI

Vicente Guaita, Joel Ward, Joachim Andersen, Marc Guehi, Tyrick Mitchell, Conor Gallagher, Will Hughes, Jeffrey Schlupp, Michael Olise, Odsonne Edouard, Jean-Philippe Mateta

Crystal Palace Subs

Jack Butland, Martin Kelly, Nathan Ferguson, Nathaniel Clyne, Luka Milivojevic, Eberechi Eze, Jairo Riedewald, Christian Benteke, Jordan Ayew

Liverpool Starting XI

Alisson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Joel Matip, Virgil van Dijk, Andrew Robertson, Fabinho, Jordan Henderson, Curtis Jones, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Roberto Firmino, Diogo Jota

Liverpool Subs

Caoimhin Kelleher, Neco Williams, Joe Gomez, Ibrahima Konate, Kostas Tsimikas, Tyler Morton, James Milner, Takumi Minamino, Kaide Gordon

Read More Liverpool Coverage

Follow LFC Transfer Room on: Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Facebook