Liverpool & European Super League: What We Know So Far

A round-up of the latest developments as the divide between elite European clubs deepen as a result of Premier League involvement in the ESL, with Liverpool among them.

Liverpool are among the 12 European clubs that have agreed to join the European Super League.

This news came to the disgust of many fans across those involved, none other than Liverpool fans.

News overshadowed the build-up to the Reds trip to Elland Road as their quest for European football next season now seems fruitless. 

Monday saw a number of developments released throughout the course of the day.

AC Milan, Arsenal FC, Atlético de Madrid, Chelsea FC, FC Barcelona, FC Internazionale Milano, Juventus FC, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid CF and Tottenham Hotspur are the founding members of the league spearheaded by Real Madrid President Florentino Pérez.

Yesterday, a number of Football Associations across the region came out condemning the plans to break away from their respective leagues in order to create the Super League. 

Notably, there are no Bundesliga clubs, as of yet with talk of a further three clubs joining the competition ahead of the proposed August start.

Jose Mourinho was also sacked as Tottenham Hotspur, just some 12 hours after it was announced that Spurs were among the founders of the breakaway. 

READ MORE: Liverpool Make Super League Statement

READ MORE: Liverpool officially leave the European Club Association

READ MORE: UEFA responds to Liverpool and the Super League

READ MORE: Jurgen Klopp discusses the Super League

Here is what we know so far:

  • Liverpool have officially left the European Club Association and can never play in a UEFA competition again - this means they will no longer feature in the Champions League or Europa League.
  • The current 12 founding clubs have signed a 23-year commitment to the new 'European Super League'.
  • Liverpool Supporters Club, Spion Kop, will remove banners from the Kop and there will be no flags on the terraces for the remainder of the season.
  • There will be a new 36-team Champions League format from the 2024/25 season. 
  • Borussia Dortmund, the German FA and Borussia Mönchengladbach condemn the idea of the breakaway. 
  • Players, apart of the clubs in the Super League, may not be allowed to feature for their national clubs. 
  • Clubs face expulsion from their domestic leagues if they participate in the competition. 
  • Liverpool and the other five English clubs involved in the ESL could be banned from making foreign transfers.

There are a number of conflicting reports surrounding these claims, but what has been confirmed is that six of the 12 are from the Premier League with Liverpool among those.