Liverpool withdraw from Super League

Liverpool FC have withdrawn from the Super League after pushback from supporters and local government.

Two days ago, Liverpool FC made a statement that they had joined and helped form a new European competition titled the European Super League. The Reds joined 11 other clubs as 'Founding Clubs' of the competition and would receive automatic qualification every year in the competition. 

The clubs that joined Liverpool in the Super league were: 

AC Milan, Arsenal FC, Atlético de Madrid, Chelsea FC, FC Barcelona, FC Internazionale Milano, Juventus FC, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid CF and Tottenham Hotspur. 


However, since the announcement several clubs including FC Barcelona, Manchester City and Chelsea have removed themselves from the competition. 

Now, news has come out that Liverpool have withdrawn their names from the European Super League, a breakaway league that their ownership group helped to form. 

In an official statement by the club this evening, it was formally announced that Liverpool Football Club would not be partaking in the European Super League. 

The announcement was as follows: 

The supporters, local government agencies, and pushback from football governing bodies UEFA and FIFA managed to get this league from formation to collapse in just two days. 

With several leaders in the formation of the league stepping down including Manchester United's Ed Woodward and Juventus' Andrea Agnelli, will we see any faces leave Liverpool?