Skip to main content

Official: PSG Goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma Crowned 2021 Yashin Trophy Winner At Ballon d'Or Awards

Gianluigi Donnarumma has been crowned 2021 Yashin Trophy winner at the Ballon d'Or awards holding off Edouard Mendy in 2nd place and Jan Oblak in 3rd.

The Italian was an important part of Roberto Mancini's Euro 2020 team that famously won the trophy at Wembley against England.

Gianluigi Donnarumma

After coming through the ranks at AC Milan he made his way into the first team making over 250 appearances before moving to PSG in the summer on a free transfer.

The top 10 were ranked as follows:

1  Gianluigi Donnarumma 

2  Edouard Mendy

3  Jan Oblak

4  Ederson

5  Manuel Neuer

6  Emiliano Martinez

7  Kasper Schmeichel

Read More

8  Thibaut Courtois

9  Keylor Navas

10 Samir Handanovic

The Ballon d'Or awards take place in Paris on Monday evening and one of the trophies to be handed out is the Lev Yashin Award for the best goalkeeper and we now bring you the nominees.

This award was first handed out in 2019 when it was won by Liverpool stopper Alisson Becker.

There were no Ballon d'Or awards in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic so the winner of the Lev Yashin Award on Monday evening will only be the second ever.

Some fantastic keepers from across world football have been shortlisted with four of them from the Premier League, two from La Liga, two from Ligue 1 and one from Serie A.

The ten nominees on the shortlist for the Lev Yashin Award are:

The 2021 Lev Yashin Award Shortlist

  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Ederson (Man City)
  • Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City)
  • Keylor Navas (PSG)
  • Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
  • Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)
  • Samir Handanovic (Inter)
  • Edouard Mendy (Chelsea)
  • Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)

Read More Liverpool Coverage

Follow LFC Transfer Room on: Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Facebook