Real Madrid, Manchester United, Manchester City headline 8-team 2014 ICC field

Tuesday February 4th, 2014

Real Madrid, ICC Cristiano Ronaldo (left), Iker Casillas and Real Madrid won the inaugural Guinness International Champions Cup, and they'll return to defend that title this summer. (Scott A. Miller/AP)

The Guinness International Champions Cup will return for its second edition after a 2013 debut, and has learned the eight teams that will make up this year's star-studded field.

Real Madrid, Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, AC Milan, Inter Milan, Roma and Olympiakos will venture to North America after the World Cup to take part in the ICC as part of their club preseason activities.

The tournament will take place from July 26 to August 4 in Charlotte, Chicago, Dallas, Denver, New York, Philadelphia, Phoenix, Pittsburgh, Washington D.C. and Miami. (There will be at least one additional venue that has yet to be finalized.)

Unlike last year’s event, which was played with a bracket, this year’s ICC will have two four-team groups. The winners of each group will meet in the final at SunLife Stadium near Miami.

There are a couple of caveats. One, the teams are subject to change if they end up having to participate in qualifying for 2014-15 UEFA tournaments based on their performance in the current league season. And two, players whose national teams go deep into the World Cup (which ends on July 13) may not be available. Last year, Real Madrid defeated Chelsea in the final at SunLife Stadium. The inaugural tournament also featured AC Milan, Juventus, Inter, Everton, Valencia and the LA Galaxy.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.