By Avi Creditor
April 28, 2014

Luis Suarez Liverpool's Luis Suarez, right, poses with England manager Roy Hodgson after being voted PFA Player of the Year. (Press Association/AP)

Considering his season statistics, it's easy to forget that Luis Suarez had to sit out the first five games of Liverpool's campaign while finishing off his ban for biting Chelsea defender Branislav Ivanovic in the arm at the end of last season. That makes his impressive accomplishments this season all that more eye-opening.

Suarez, the Premier League's leading scorer with 30 goals this season, was named the Professional Footballers Association Player of the Year, marking a complete 180 from how he was perceived at this time last season.

Suarez was joined by a pair of teammates -- forward Daniel Sturridge and midfielder Steven Gerrard -- on the PFA Team of the Year. While the timing of the honors coincided with Liverpool slipping up in a 2-0 loss to Chelsea and blowing the door open on the Premier League title race, there's no denying the impact all three have had on the campaign. Sturridge's 20 goals are second-most to Suarez, and Gerrard has been a rock in the heart of Brendan Rodgers' midfield.

REDDY: Philosophy never wavered for Liverpool manager Rodgers

Chelsea also put three players on the team: Goalkeeper Petr Cech, defender Gary Cahill and midfielder Eden Hazard, the 23-year old Belgian who was also named PFA Young Player of the Year.

BERLIN: Door open for Manchester City, Chelsea after Liverpool falls to Mourinho's Blues

The team of the year, voted on by the players, is:

GOALKEEPER: Petr Cech (Chelsea)

DEFENDERSLuke Shaw (Southampton), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Seamus Coleman (Everton)

MIDFIELDERS: Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Yaya Toure (Manchester City), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton)

FORWARDS: Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)

You May Like