By Avi Creditor
May 13, 2014

Spain Spain returns a number of familiar faces from the 2010 squad that captured the nation's first World Cup. (Gabriel Bouys/AFP/Getty Images)

No nation has repeated as World Cup champion since Brazil in 1958 and 1962. Spain, the No. 1 ranked team in the world according to FIFA, will attempt to do that with a squad that contains a ton of holdovers and a few key new faces.

Manager Vicente del Bosque named a 30-man preliminary squad that he will cut down to 23 on May 25. Barcelona fixtures Andres Iniesta, Xavi, Cesc Fabregas, Pedro and Gerard Pique are joined by Real Madrid's Xabi Alonso, Sergio Ramos and Iker Casillas to make up the nucleus of the squad. Alvaro Arbeloa, Madrid's right back, was not included, creating an opening for the likes of teammate Dani Carvajal or Chelsea's Cesar Azpilicueta to potentially take the reins. 

Atletico Madrid -- and reportedly Chelsea-bound star striker -- Diego Costa, a naturalized citizen who was born in Brazil, is also part of the mix, in addition to teammates Juanfran, Koke and David Villa.

Spain will open the World Cup against the Netherlands in a rematch of the 2010 final before playing Chile and Australia in a treacherous Group B. Prior to departing for Brazil, Spain will play El Salvador in a friendly at FedEx Field in Landover, Md., on June 7.

Here is Spain's squad in full:

GOALKEEPERS: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Napoli), David de Gea (Manchester United)

DEFENDERS: Juanfran Torres (Atletico Madrid), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich), Alberto Moreno (Sevilla), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid)

MIDFIELDERS: Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), Jesus Navas (Manchester City), David Silva (Manchester City), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao), Juan Mata (Manchester United)

FORWARDS: Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), David Villa (Atletico Madrid), Fernando Torres (Chelsea), Fernando Llorente (Juventus)

You May Like