Ronald Martinez/Getty Images
By SI Wire
June 23, 2014

The Hockey Hall of Fame announced this year's class today, with four players, one coach, and one referee being inducted.

Dominik Hasek, Rob Blake, Peter Forsberg and Mike Modano are the four players who will go into the Hall on November 17. Pat Burns, who coached four NHL teams and won the Stanley Cup with the Devils in 2003, will also be inducted, as will longtime referee Bill McCreary. Burns died after a five-year battle with cancer in 2010.

Hasek played for four NHL teams between 1990 and 2008. He won the Stanley Cup with the Red Wings in 2002, the first ever European goalie to win a Cup as a starter. Hasek etched his name in another Cup in 2008 as the backup to Chris Osgood. He also won two Olympic medals (a gold and a bronze) for the Czech Republic.

Blake played 21 seasons in the NHL, mainly for the Los Angeles Kings, who hired him as their assistant general manager before the start of this past season. He was a six-time All-Star and won a Stanley Cup with the Avalanche in 2001.

One of Blake's teammates on that championship Avalanche team was fellow inductee Peter Forsberg. Forsberg began his career in 1994 with the Quebec Nordiques, and became the face of the franchise when the team moved to Colorado the following year. He won two Stanley Cups with the Avalanche, in 1996 and 2001, and also won a pair of Olympic gold medals for Sweden (1994 and 2006).

Modano played in the NHL for 21 seasons. He was the first overall pick in the 1988 draft by the Minnesota North Stars. The franchise later moved to Dallas, where Modano led the Stars to the Stanley Cup in 1999. He holds records for most goals, assists and points by an American-born player. He finished his career in 2011 in his home state of Michigan with the Detroit Red Wings.

You May Like