U.S. Open singles champions

U.S. Open Singles Champions
Year Men Women
2006 Roger Federer Maria Sharapova
2005 Roger Federer Kim Clijsters
2004 Roger Federer Svetlana Kuznetsova
2003 Andy Roddick Justine Henin-Hardenne
2002 Pete Sampras Serena Williams
2001 Lleyton Hewitt Venus Williams
2000 Marat Safin Venus Williams
1999 Andre Agassi Serena Williams
1998 Patrick Rafter Lindsay Davenport
1997 Patrick Rafter Martina Hingis
1996 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1995 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1994 Andre Agassi Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario
1993 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1992 Stefan Edberg Monica Seles
1991 Stefan Edberg Monica Seles
1990 Pete Sampras Gabriela Sabatini
1989 Boris Becker Steffi Graf
1988 Mats Wilander Steffi Graf
1987 Ivan Lendl Martina Navratilova
1986 Ivan Lendl Martina Navratilova
1985 Ivan Lendl Hana Mandlikova
1984 John McEnroe Martina Navratilova
1983 Jimmy Connors Martina Navratilova
1982 Jimmy Connors Chris Evert Lloyd
1981 John McEnroe Tracy Austin
1980 John McEnroe Chris Evert Lloyd
1979 John McEnroe Tracy Austin
1978 Jimmy Connors Chris Evert
1977 Guillermo Vilas Chris Evert
1976 Jimmy Connors Chris Evert
1975 Manuel Orantes Chris Evert
1974 Jimmy Connors Billie Jean King
1973 John Newcombe Margaret Smith Court
1972 Ilie Nastase Billie Jean King
1971 Stan Smith Billie Jean King
1970 Ken Rosewall Margaret Smith Court
1969 Rod Laver Margaret Smith Court
1968 Arthur Ashe Virginia Wade
1967 John Newcombe Billie Jean Moffitt King
1966 Fred Stolle Maria Bueno
1965 Manuel Santana Margaret Smith
1964 Roy Emerson Maria Bueno
1963 Rafael Osuna Maria Bueno
1962 Rod Laver Margaret Smith
1961 Roy Emerson Darlene Hard
1960 Neale Fraser Darlene Hard
1959 Neale Fraser Maria Bueno
1958 Ashley Cooper Althea Gibson
1957 Mal Anderson Althea Gibson
1956 Ken Rosewall Shirley Fry
1955 Tony Trabert Doris Hart
1954 Vic Seixas Doris Hart
1953 Tony Trabert Maureen Connolly
1952 Frank Sedgman Maureen Connolly
1951 Frank Sedgman Maureen Connolly
1950 Art Larsen Margaret Osborne duPont
1949 Pancho Gonzales Margaret Osborne duPont
1948 Pancho Gonzales Margaret Osborne duPont
1947 Jack Kramer Louise Brough
1946 Jack Kramer Pauline Betz
1945 Frank Parker Sarah Palfrey Cooke
1944 Frank Parker Pauline Betz
1943 Joseph Hunt Pauline Betz
1942 Tad Schroeder Pauline Betz
1941 Bobby Riggs Sarah Palfrey Cooke
1940 Don McNeill Alice Marble
1939 Bobby Riggs Alice Marble
1938 Don Budge Alice Marble
1937 Don Budge Anita Lizana
1936 Fred Perry Alice Marble
1935 Wilmer Allison Helen Jacobs
1934 Fred Perry Helen Jacobs
1933 Fred Perry Helen Jacobs
1932 Ellsworth Vines Helen Jacobs
1931 Ellsworth Vines Helen Wills Moody
1930 John Doeg Betty Nuthall
1929 Bill Tilden Helen Wills
1928 Henri Cochet Helen Wills
1927 Rene Lacoste Helen Wills
1926 Rene Lacoste Molla Bjurstedt Mallory
1925 Bill Tilden Helen Wills
1924 Bill Tilden Helen Wills
1923 Bill Tilden Helen Wills
1922 Bill Tilden Molla Bjurstedt Mallory
1921 Bill Tilden Molla Bjurstedt Mallory
1920 Bill Tilden Molla Bjurstedt Mallory
1919 William Johnston Hazel Hotchkiss Wightman
1918 R.L. Murray Molla Bjurstedt
1917 R.L. Murray Molla Bjurstedt
1916 Richard Williams Molla Bjurstedt
1915 William Johnston Molla Bjurstedt
1914 Richard Williams Mary Browne
1913 Maurice McLoughlin Mary Browne
1912 Maurice McLoughlin Mary Browne
1911 William Larned Hazel Hotchkiss
1910 William Larned Hazel Hotchkiss
1909 William Larned Hazel Hotchkiss
1908 William Larned Maud Barger-Wallach
1907 William Larned Evelyn Sears
1906 William Clothier Helen Homans
1905 Beals Wright Elisabeth Moore
1904 Holcombe Ward May Sutton
1903 Laurie Doherty Elisabeth Moore
1902 William Larned Marion Jones
1901 William Larned Elisabeth Moore
1900 Malcolm Whitman Myrtle McAteer
1899 Malcolm Whitman Marion Jones
1898 Malcolm Whitman Juliette Atkinson
1897 Robert Wrenn Juliette Atkinson
1896 Robert Wrenn Elisabeth Moore
1895 Fred Hovey Juliette Atkinson
1894 Robert Wrenn Helen Hellwig
1893 Robert Wrenn Aline Terry
1892 Oliver Campbell Mabel Cahill
1891 Oliver Campbell Mabel Cahill
1890 Oliver Campbell Ellen Roosevelt
1889 Henry Slocum Jr. Bertha Townsend
1888 Henry Slocum Jr. Bertha Townsend
1887 Richard Sears Ellen Hansell
1886 Richard Sears
1885 Richard Sears
1884 Richard Sears
1883 Richard Sears
1882 Richard Sears
1881 Richard Sears
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.