Djokovic, Williams get top ITF annual awards

Serbia's Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams of the US perform the gangnam style dance during the Kids Tennis Day at Melbourne Park ahead of the Australian Open tennis championship in Melbourne, Australia, Saturday, Jan. 12, 2013. (AP Photo/Andy Wong)
Andy Wong

LONDON (AP) Novak Djokovic and Serena Williams have been selected as the International Tennis Federation's world champions for 2014.

Djokovic won the annual award for a fourth time, while Williams claimed it for a fifth time.

Djokovic won Wimbledon for his seventh Grand Slam title and reclaimed the No. 1 ranking. Williams won the U.S. Open for her 18th major championship and stayed No. 1 throughout the year.

Bob and Mike Bryan won the men's doubles award for the 11th time in 12 years, while Sara Errani and Roberta Vinci of Italy took the women's prize for the third straight time.

CiCi Bellis of the United States and Russia's Andrey Rublev were named junior world champions. Japan's Yui Kamiji and Shingo Kunieda are the wheelchair champions.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.