By Courtney Nguyen
November 21, 2013

The Beyond The Baseline awards are our look back at the best — and worst — of the tennis season. Today we highlight some of the best rallies of the year from the ATP Tour. Click here for our complete archive of year-end awards.

Novak Djokovic vs. Stanislas Wawrinka at the Australian Open. Easily the best match point played this year.

Djokovic bests Rafael Nadal in a cramp-inducing, 54-shot rally in the U.S. Open final. The rally lasted 1 minute and 15 seconds, which was enough time for everyone to tweet about it

Djokovic and Nadal were at it again at the ATP World Tour Finals, where the Serb turns the point around with an insane defensive lob to earn the break.

Roger Federer responds to Juan Martin del Potro's tweener with a no-look, over-the-shoulder forehand at the ATP World Tour Finals. As he would.

Potito Starace did everything he could to win this set point at the Italian Open, but Radek Stepanek had all the answers.

Andy Murray's craftiness was on display against Fernando Verdasco at Wimbledon, switching up the point with a sharp cross-court slice before countering with a forehand pass winner.

Djokovic falls down. Djokovic gets up. Djokovic beats Murray at the Australian Open.

Mikhail Youzhny survives with a no-look flick and a great passing shot against Benjamin Becker at the Qatar Open.

Murray finally puts a scrambling David Ferrer away with a big forehand at the Sony Open.

You know it's a good point when the commentators start audibly gasping mid-point. Djokovic and Wawrinka deliver once again.

Djokovic and del Potro trade blows for 23 shots until the Serb cranks a forehand winner at the Shanghai Masters.

Ferrer pulls the string beautifully on a drop shot to break Djokovic at the Paris Masters.

Bonus: As proof that "length of rally" does not always equal "quality of rally," here's the head-scratching, 71-shot exchange between Gael Monfils and Gilles Simon from the Australian Open.

You May Like