Oregon's Cheserek, Notre Dame's Seidel win in cross country

Publish date:

LEXINGTON, Ky. (AP) Oregon's Edward Cheserek won the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on Saturday, and Notre Dame's Molly Seidel took the women's title.

Syracuse won the men team championship, and New Mexico topped the women's field.

Cheserek completed the 10-kilometer course at E.P. ''Tom'' Sawyer Park in 28 minutes, 45.8 seconds in cold, rainy conditions. Seidel ran six kilometers 19:28.6.

Justyn Knight finished fourth in 29:46.1 to lead three Syracuse runners in the top 10 and help the Orange win their first title in 64 years. Syracuse had 82. Colorado was second with 91, and Stanford third with 151.

New Mexico placed all five scorers in the top 25 and finished with 49 points, the best team score since 1982. Courtney Frerichs was fourth in 19:48.0, and Alice Wright fifth in 19.53.1 en route to the Lobos' first national title. Colorado was second with 80 points, and Oregon third at 214.