What is Your 1960 Golf I.Q.?

March 21, 1960

You may have played golf for years and think you have all the answers, but do you? The USGA rule book this year contains important changes, one of which has already cost Wes Ellis $660 at Palm Springs. Ellis played a provisional ball, correct under 1959 rules but wrong in 1960. Will the same thing happen to you? Test yourself, and if you score under 13 you had better look to your rule book.

1 A single player is entitled to go through any twosome, threesome or foursome because he can play much faster.

TRUE—
FALSE—

2 If you're playing a best-ball or four-ball match and your partner doesn't show up, you automatically lose the match.

TRUE—
FALSE—

3 You can practice on the course on day of match play.

TRUE—
FALSE—

4 If you get mad and break your putter or throw your driver into the lake, you can send back to the pro shop for replacements.

TRUE—
FALSE—

5 If a paper cup interferes with your stroke in a hazard, you have to play the ball as it lies.

TRUE—
FALSE—

6 If you hit your ball out of bounds, it's a one-stroke and distance penalty.

TRUE—
FALSE—

7 If you hit your tee shot out of bounds, you wait until the others play their first strokes before you tee another ball.

TRUE—
FALSE—

8 If you lose a ball, there's a stroke and distance penalty.

TRUE—
FALSE—

9 In stroke play, if you are in doubt about your rights or procedure and elect to play two balls on a hole, you have the choice of using the lower score.

TRUE—
FALSE—

10 The expression "through the green" includes the tee and green.

TRUE—
FALSE—

11 In match play, if you play the wrong ball out of a hazard, you lose the hole.

TRUE—
FALSE—

12 In stroke play, there's no penalty if you play the wrong ball.

TRUE—
FALSE—

13 If your ball is unplayable, you have the option to lose stroke and distance or one stroke for dropping directly behind unplayable position.

TRUE—
FALSE—

14 You can play a provisional ball if you think your other ball is unplayable or in a water hazard.

TRUE—
FALSE—

15 If a dog picks up your ball and drops it nearer the hole, you play it where the dog drops it.

TRUE—
FALSE—

16 If, in match play, your ball hits your caddie, you apologize and play out the hole.

TRUE—
FALSE—

17 If you cut the ball badly during the play of a hole, you have to continue using it until you hole out.

TRUE—
FALSE—

18 If, when you drop a ball, it rolls into a hazard or out of bounds, you suffer the consequences.

TRUE—
FALSE—

19 You can clean the ball on the green only if it is allowed by a local rule.

TRUE—
FALSE—

20 You can repair ball marks anywhere on the green, even if they're in your line of putt.

TRUE—
FALSE—

21 If flagstick is not attended be-fore a stroke is played, you can ask for flagstick to be removed while ball is in motion.

TRUE—
FALSE—

22 There's a one-stroke penalty if your ball moves on putting green while removing loose impediment.

TRUE—
FALSE—

23 In match play, if your opponent's ball is closer to the hole, he can putt out before you do.

TRUE—
FALSE—

NOW SCORE YOUR GOLF I.Q.

One point for each correct answer

1 FALSE
A single player has no standing and should give way to a match of any kind (Etiquette).

2 FALSE
You can represent your side, the committee willing (Definitions, 28).

3 TRUE
Provided the committee doesn't object (Rule 8-3, Note 2, New, 1960).

4 FALSE
Only those clubs which become unfit in the normal course of play can be replaced (Rule 3).

5 FALSE
It may be removed. Movable artificial obstruction (Rule 31).

6 FALSE
Distance only (Rule 29-1, New, 1960, USGA only; Royal and Ancient Golf Club still adds stroke penalty).

7 TRUE
(Rule 12-2).

8 FALSE
Loss of distance only (Rule 29-1, New, 1960, USGA only; Royal and Ancient Golf Club still adds stroke penalty).

9 FALSE
Before playing a stroke with either ball, competitor must announce which ball he wants to score with if the Rules permit (Rule 11-5).

10 FALSE
"Through the green" doesn't include teeing ground, putting green of the hole being played or any hazards on the course (Definitions, 34).

11 FALSE
No penalty in a hazard, but you must go back and play your own ball (Rule 21-2).

12 FALSE
Two-stroke penalty added (except in a hazard). You must go back and play your own ball (Rule 21-3).

13 TRUE
(Rule 29-2, New, 1960, USGA only; not accepted by Royal and Ancient Golf Club).

14 FALSE
Play of a provisional ball is permissible only if original ball is lost or out of bounds (Rule 30, New, 1960, USGA only; not accepted by Royal and Ancient Golf Club).

15 FALSE
You must return the ball to where the dog (person, animal or moving vehicle) picked it up. If ball isn't returned, drop another ball as near as possible to original position. No penalty (Rule 26-1).

16 FALSE
You apologize, but you also lose the hole (Rule 26-2a).

17 FALSE
You inform your opponent (or a referee) of your intention to replace it (Rule 28).

18 FALSE
You may redrop without penalty (Rule 22-2c).

19 FALSE
You can clean the ball at any time on the green (Rule 35-1d, New, 1960).

20 TRUE
By any method except by stepping on the damaged area (Rule 35-1c, New, 1960).

21 FALSE
Flagstick cannot be touched under those circumstances (Rule 34-1, New, 1960).

22 FALSE
No penalty (Rule 35-1b, New, 1960).

23 FALSE
You can make opponent take shot over in his proper turn. Maybe this time he'll miss the putt (Rule 35-2b).

PHOTO

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN
Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)