Search

POINT OF FACT

Feb. 27, 1961
Feb. 27, 1961

Table of Contents
Feb. 27, 1961

Cover
Yesterday
Bobsleds
Valeri
  • An 18-year-old Russian Olympian, who outleaped America's John Thomas in Rome, met him again in New York's Madison Square Garden last week, beat him again and, for an encore, equaled Thomas' world indoor record

The Pest
Safe Driving: Part III
  • Few persons in the world have had more success in overcoming hazardous road conditions than Miss Moss. Sister of Britain's Stirling Moss, she has twice been the European women's rally champion and has won numerous events in weather so foul that few cars finished. Whether negotiating an ice-glazed road in the Alps, as at the right, or an axle-deep ford in England (next page), she always is in command of her car, and you will be too if you use the techniques she describes below

Golf
Spink
Acknowledgments
19th Hole: The Readers Take Over
Pat On The Back

POINT OF FACT

A college-basketball quiz to test the ingenuity and add to the knowledge of the casual fan and the armchair expert

?Can a team play with fewer than five players?

This is an article from the Feb. 27, 1961 issue Original Layout

•A team must begin a game with five players. If it has no substitutes to replace players who have fouled out, it may continue with fewer than five men. Upon occasion, a team with a one-man advantage caused by fouling out has voluntarily sacrificed a player to equalize the game.

?Team A has used its allotted five timeouts. The coach of Team A, however, wishes to discuss the game situation with his players. He signals his captain to ask for another time-out. Can his team get it?

•Yes, at a price. Time-outs in excess of five are charged as technical fouls. Such a request is rare since the technical foul results in a free throw for the opposition plus possession of the ball at mid-court.

?When is the three-second rule invoked by a referee?

•This violation is called when an offensive player remains in the free-throw lane for more than three seconds.

?Team A has the ball out of bounds. The throw-in, aimed for the tall center, is so high that the ball goes into the basket without touching any player. Does Team A have a goal?

•No. The ball is considered dead until a player on the floor touches it. Team B would gain possession for the violation.

?If a shot enters the basket from below, goes through and drops back into the basket again, is it a goal?

•No. A goal is scored only when a ball enters the basket from above and remains in the basket or passes through.

?While the ball is in flight on a try for a field goal, a player from Team A pushes an opponent. As this foul is called, another player from Team B bats the ball away from the rim. What happens?

•Team A gets two points on the field-goal try because of illegal goal tending by Team B; then the teams move to the other end of the floor and the player from Team B who was pushed shoots a free throw.

?1) A player from Team A sticks out his leg and blocks a pass. Can he recover the ball? 2) A player from Team A scrambles after a loose ball which rolls off his leg. Can he recover the ball?

•1) No. The kick is intentional, and it is a fundamental of basketball that the ball must be played with the hands. The ball goes over to Team B. 2) Yes. An accidental kick is not a violation.

?A ball is passed in bounds by Team A. It bounces off an official without touching a player and rolls out of bounds. Does Team A try again?

•No. It is Team B's ball. As in football and baseball, the official is considered a part of the playing field.

?A player accidentally taps a ball into his opponents' basket. Who gets credit for the goal?

•It is added to the opponents' score, mentioned in a footnote, but not credited to any individual player.

?Team A has possession. One of its players with control of the ball steps on an outside line, but does not touch the ball while he is out of bounds. Is this a violation?

•Yes. The key word is "control." The play is ruled as a continued dribble, and the ball is dead when the player steps on the line. Team B is given the ball.

ILLUSTRATION