A Preakness quiz to test the ingenuity and add to the knowledge of the $2 bettor and the racing expert
May 13, 1962

? The trophy for the Preakness is the Wood-lawn Vase. What is its history?

•The Woodlawn Vase, which is insured today for $33,000, was made by Tiffany shortly before the Civil War. It was used as a trophy by the now-defunct Woodlawn Racing Association (Louisville, Ky.) and was buried somewhere in Kentucky during the war. In 1904 a Maryland Jockey Club member, Thomas Clyde, won it in a stakes race at Sheepshead Bay in New York, and in 1917 he gave it to the Maryland Jockey Club as the perpetual trophy for the Preakness. A half-size reproduction is given each year to the owner of the winning horse.

? Has any horse in recent years skipped the Kentucky Derby but won the Preakness?

•Brookmeade Stable's Bold won the 1951 Preakness after making only two starts as a 3-year-old. These were both at Pimlico, within 10 days of the big race. The first he won, and in the other he finished a close second. Native Dancer (1953) was the last Preakness winner who had not raced the previous winter.

? Has any Preakness winner sired a horse who also won the Preakness?

•Yes, five . Man o' War (1920) was the sire of War Admiral (1937), Gallant Fox (1930) of Omaha (1935), Bold Venture (1936) of Assault (1946), Polynesian (1945) of Native Dancer (1953), and Citation (1948) of Fabius (1956).

? Preakness starters now carry scale weights (colts, 126 pounds; fillies, 121 pounds). Has this always been so?

•Prior to 1924 the Preakness was run under allowance conditions and starters' weights varied considerably. In fact, one winner, Lay-minster in 1910, carried only 84 pounds.

? Has any filly ever won the Preakness?

•Yes, four fillies have won the stakes: Flocarline in 1903, Whimsical in 1906, Rhine Maiden in 1915 and Nellie Morse in 1924. The latter won what is probably the wettest Preakness in history. She was owned by Cartoonist Bud Fisher, the creator of comic strip characters Mutt and Jeff.

? What trainer has saddled the most Preakness winners?

•R. Wyndham Walden trained seven winners. He won his first Preakness in 1875 with Tom Ochiltree, and three years later sent out the first of five consecutive winners for Owner G. L. Lorillard. Walden's final winner, Refund in 1888, raced in his own colors. Sunny Jim Fitzsimmons—Gallant Fox (1930), Omaha (1935), Nashua (1955), Bold Ruler (1957)—and H. A. (Jimmy) Jones—Faultless (1947), Citation (1948), Fabius (1956) and Tim Tam (1958)—have each trained four winners, more than any other trainers still active.

? Which jockey has ridden the most Preakness winners?

•Eddie Arcaro rode the winner six times in 15 attempts. His first two winners—Whirl-away (1941) and Citation (1948)—went on to capture the Triple Crown. His other victories were on Hill Prince in 1950, Bold in 1951, Nashua in 1955 and Bold Ruler in 1957. Arcaro was second twice in the Preakness and third four times.

? a) Which was the fastest Preakness at the present distance—1 3/16 miles? b) the slowest?

•a) Nashua, who went on to win more than $1 million, won the 1955 Preakness in 1:54 3/5, breaking the track record as well as the stakes record, b) The slowest winning time was by Citation, the only other Preakness victor to earn $1 million. Racing on a heavy track, the Calumet Farm champion finished in 2:02 2/5.


Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)