Knowing a small rule can be a great help

July 30, 1962
July 30, 1962

Table of Contents
July 30, 1962

U.S. Success
Palmer's PGA
  • In the last days of his career, Randy Sandy, a boxer for 13 years, epitomizes the plight of the better-than-average fighter. His history is a bittersweet description of a once flourishing profession that is now declining in practitioners and rewards

Harness Racing
Minnesota Fans
  • Rollie Reynen of Devils Lake, N.Dak. sings loud and clear as he helps to keep the party lively on the special railroad car taking a delegation 400 miles to the ball game. Fans came by train, bus, car and plane from all over the Northwest and parts of Canada to see the hot Minnesota Twins take on Roger Maris and Mickey Mantle and the rest of the hated New York Yankees

19th Hole: The Readers Take Over

Knowing a small rule can be a great help

A thorough knowledge of golf rules can be of great help to you, because there are times when a regulation that seems to restrict the player actually aids him. An example is Paragraph 22-2c of The Rules of Golf, which concerns dropping or placing the ball after a free or penalty lift. It is a rule that comes up frequently in tournament play, and I have benefited by it more than once since joining the pro tour. The rule reads:

This is an article from the July 30, 1962 issue Original Layout

"If a dropped ball rolls out of bounds, into a hazard or more than two club-lengths from the point of dropping, it may be re-dropped, without penalty. If the configuration of the ground makes it impossible to prevent the ball from so rolling, it may be placed at the point of dropping."

The rule clearly states that if the ball rolls into one of the three situations you are allowed to redrop it without penalty, but it implies something equally as important. If the ball rolls into a more favorable spot (provided it does not end up any nearer the hole), you are also allowed to play it from there.

Here is an example from my recent competitive experience to illustrate what I mean. During the third round of this year's Crosby I was playing the Pebble Beach course and at the 5th hole, a 160-yard par 3, I embedded my tee shot in the dirt alongside a sand trap fronting the green. From this spot, even if the ball had not been embedded, I would have had an extremely delicate pitch over the trap. But under a PGA tournament ruling I was allowed a free drop because the ball was embedded. Since the ground sloped to the left, when I dropped the ball it rolled away from the trap—but not nearer the hole—and left me with an easy shot. Thanks to Rule 22-2c, I was allowed to play the ball from this spot and chipped it up close for my par.