An IC4A indoor track meet quiz to stimulate the memory and add to the knowledge of armchair experts
March 09, 1964

? The Intercollegiate Association of Amateur Athletes of America is known as the IC4A. How many events were held at the first meet in 1922, and how many will there be this year?

•There were 11 events in the first meet (70-yard dash, 60-yard hurdles, mile run, two-mile run, mile relay, two-mile relay, broad jump, pole vault, high jump, shotput and 35-pound weight throw). After adding several new events and dropping others, the IC4A program now consists of 13 categories, with the latest event to be added being the 1,000-yard run in 1939.

? Four of the winners at the first meet had the same surname. What was it?

•All four were named Brown, all were from Ivy League schools but, unfittingly, not a one was from Brown. J. F. Brown of Harvard won the 35-pound weight throw, L. Brown ran on Penn's two-mile relay team, Leroy Brown of Dartmouth won the high jump and Cornell's N. P. Brown took the two-mile run.

? Who was the first competitor to win his event three years in succession?

•Shotputter Ralph G. Hills of Princeton won in 1923, 1924 and 1925 with progressively better puts of 45 feet 8¼ inches, 46 feet¾ inch and 47 feet 5¾ inches.

? What IC4A mark has lasted the longest?

•The broad-jump record of 25 feet 2½ inches set by Barney Ewell of Penn State has endured for 21 years.

? What three schools have retired indoor trophies by winning the leant championship five times?

•NYU, the winner in 1929, 1932, 1940 and 1943, kept the original trophy after another victory in 1947. By winning five times from 1951 through 1956, Manhattan earned the second award. Villanova, currently the winner of five titles in the past seven tries, owns the third trophy.

? What team has been the runnerup most often?

•Manhattan and Yale have both finished second six times, with the Jaspers missing out three years in a row from 1957 through 1959.