Just for Kicks

May 19, 2002

Good Hosts
National teams are rounding out their rosters for the World Cup,
scheduled to begin on May 31 in Japan and South Korea. Neither
of those countries has won a World Cup championship (France was
both the host and the champion in 1998), but which is the only
nation to have hosted the tournament more than once and never
won a title?

a. Chile c. Spain
b. Mexico d. Switzerland

Few and Far Between
Which players were credited with the goals in the last two U.S.
victories in the World Cup?

This Week's Matchup
True Brazilian superstars are known by their first name only.
Pair the mononymic player with the rest of his actual given name.

1. Leonardo a. Victor Borba Ferreira
2. Rivaldo b. Luiz Nazario de Lima
3. Romario c. de Souza Farias
4. Ronaldo d. Nascimento de Araujo

Call to Order
Put these countries in descending order of the number of times
they've lost in the World Cup championship match.

a. Argentina
b. Federal Republic of Germany
c. Sweden
d. Uruguay

ANSWERS GOOD HOSTS: b. Although the World Cup was held in Mexico
in both 1970 and '86, Mexico has never won a title. FEW AND FAR
BETWEEN: On June 29, 1950, Joseph Gaetjens scored the only goal
in a U.S. win over England. In the 2-1 U.S. win over Colombia on
June 22, 1994, U.S. goals were scored by Earnie Stewart and on an
own goal by Colombia's Andres Escobar. THIS WEEK'S MATCHUP: 1. d;
2. a; 3. c; 4. b. CALL TO ORDER: b. Federal Republic of Germany
(lost World Cup final to England in '66, Italy in '82 and
Argentina in '86); a. Argentina (lost to Uruguay in '30 and
Germany in '90); c. Sweden (one loss to Brazil in '58); d.
Uruguay (won both final appearances, against Argentina in '30 and
Brazil in '50).

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)