History Lesson

June 10, 2002
June 10, 2002

Table of Contents
June 10, 2002

Golf Plus

History Lesson

The Boston-New York rivalry dates to 1903, when the two teams
were known as the Pilgrims and Highlanders, respectively. Here
are some intriguing numbers from the majors' most storied

This is an article from the June 10, 2002 issue Original Layout

--New York, known as the Yankees since 1913, leads the series
1,031-843. New York has lost to Boston, renamed the Red Sox in
1907, more than it has to any other team except the Detroit
Tigers (881).

--Since George Steinbrenner took over the Yankees in 1973, New
York leads the regular-season series 202-201. In that span the
Yankees have won nine American League titles and six World
Series; the Red Sox have won two AL pennants.

--The teams have combined to win 48 of 100 American League
championships and 31 of the league's 57 World Series titles.

-Boston won all five of its World Series championships before New
York won the first of its 26, in 1923.

--The teams have finished one-two in the standings 14 times,
including in each of the past four seasons. New York was the
first-place team on 11 of those 14 occasions, including the last

--In 1923 the Yankees' 24-man postseason roster featured 11 former
Red Sox players, including Babe Ruth and the pitchers responsible
for three of New York's four World Series victories.

--Ted Williams was the American League MVP twice and finished
second in the voting four times--all to Yankees (in 1941 and '47
to Joe DiMaggio, in '42 to Joe Gordon and in '57 to Mickey

--Three Yankees--George Modridge, Allie Reynolds and Dave
Righetti--have thrown no-hitters against the Red Sox. Two Boston
pitchers, Cy Young and Rube Foster, have thrown no-hitters
against New York.

--David Sabino

B/W PHOTO: BETTMANN NEWSPHOTOS LEGENDS Williams (left) had a career to remember, but Yankees such as DiMaggio kept him from winning even more awards.