Ryan Newman has eight Winston Cup wins this season, twice as many
as any other driver. Yet because Newman also has six finishes of
38th or worse, he's fourth in the standings. Leader Matt Kenseth
has just one win but only two finishes lower than 22nd. Here are
the only drivers since the current point system went into effect
in 1975 to have won at least eight races yet failed to win the

Year Driver Wins Points champion (wins)

1996 Jeff Gordon 10 Terry Labonte (2)
1994 Rusty Wallace 8 Dale Earnhardt (4)
1993 Rusty Wallace 10 Dale Earnhardt (6)
1985 Bill Elliott 11 Darrell Waltrip (3)
1982 Bobby Allison 8 Darrell Waltrip (12)
1976 David Pearson 10 Cale Yarborough (9)