KINGS OF THE HILL Last week Rawlings announced baseball's 2003
Gold Glove winners, and for the first time since 1989 someone
other than Greg Maddux was the NL winner at pitcher: lefthander
Mike Hampton, Maddux's Braves teammate. Before Hampton, who was
the last NL lefty to win the Gold Glove?

a. Steve Carlton c. John Tudor
b. Jim Kaat d. Fernando Valenzuela

WINNING HANDS For the second season in a row, two players on the
World Series champions won Gold Gloves; Marlins first baseman
Derrek Lee and second baseman Luis Castillo. In 2002 catcher
Bengie Molina and outfielder Darin Erstad of the Angels were
honored. Name the last World Series champ to have three Gold

WHO AM I? No NL second baseman has won more Gold Gloves than I
have. I was pretty good on offense, too: I had single-season
highs of 40 home runs, 19 triples and 54 stolen bases. Growing up
in Spokane, I was a Parade All-America high school football
player. I retired in 1994 but made a successful comeback in '96.
Can you guess my identity?

CALL TO ORDER Place these teams in order of Gold Gloves won at
the specified positions since the award began in 1957.

a. Cardinals shortstops c. Orioles shortstops
b. Dodgers first basemen d. Rangers catchers


KINGS OF THE HILL: d. Fernando Valenzuela won it in 1986 for the
Dodgers. Rangers lefthander Kenny Rogers won the AL award in

WINNING HANDS: The 1984 world champion Tigers had Gold Glovers at
catcher (Lance Parrish), second base (Lou Whitaker) and shortstop
(Alan Trammell).

WHO AM I? I am former Cub Ryne Sandberg.

CALL TO ORDER: d. Rangers catchers (16: Pudge Rodriguez 10, Jim
Sundberg 6); a. Cardinals shortstops (14: Ozzie Smith 11, Edgar
Renteria 2, Dal Maxvill 1); b. Dodgers first basemen (13: Wes
Parker 6, Steve Garvey 4, Gil Hodges 3); c. Orioles shortstops
(12: Mark Belanger 8, Luis Aparicio 2, Cal Ripken Jr. 2)