Big Play with Mark Wood

October 31, 2005

WHO: Lucas Glover

WHAT: Holed 35-yard bunker shot for the winning birdie

WHERE: Par-4 18th at Walt Disney World Magnolia course

WHEN: 72nd hole, Funai Classic

WHY
Though Glover ranked only 185th in sand saves, his hole-out from a greenside bunker was no surprise. Glover has missed the cut in 12 of his 26 starts, but he also has six top 10s, proving that when he plays well, he plays very well. Earlier in the round, he had left a few bunker shots short, but with the title on the line he made an adjustment in his setup and holed the shot of his career--so far.

MARK'S TIP
Be Square on Long Bunker Shots

For most greenside bunker shots, you open the club face to get more lift and less resistance from the sand on impact. But when facing a long bunker shot, such as the one Glover had, you take the same stance (slightly open), maintain the same ball position (slightly forward) and make the same swing, but close the club face to almost square. Make a big swing with a big finish, and the ball should fly farther.

Mark Wood, a Golf Magazine Top 100 Teacher, teaches at Hamilton Farm Golf Club in Gladstone, N.J.

... AND ANOTHER THING
"If the Tour continues to emphasize distance by lengthening courses, how long will it be before players turn to performance-enhancing drugs?"

Top 100
TEACHERS POLL

Should TV viewers or spectators be allowed to point out rules violations to tournament officials?
No 55%
Yes 45%

"No. Players and rules officials have that job-- apply there!"
--JIM MURPHY SUGAR CREEK C.C.

•QUIZ
2005 DQs

When Michelle Wie (right) was disqualified at the Samsung World Championship, it was the 36th DQ of the year on the PGA and LPGA tours. Below are some other noteworthy disqualifications. Can you can match the infraction with the player who committed it?

Infraction (Rule Violated)

1. I shot an opening-round 63, then forgot to sign my scorecard (Rule 6-6b).

2. I played a ball that was not on the conforming-ball list (Rule 5-1).

3. I failed to show up for the second round of a tournament (Rule 6-3a).

4. I signed for two incorrect scores on one card (Rule 6-6d), then two months later signed for another incorrect score.

5. I changed one of the clubs in my bag during a weather delay (Rule 14-4a).

6. Two days later I heard what the above player did, realized I had done the same thing and turned myself in (Rule 14-4a).

7. At a major I thought my ball might have moved before I putted it. I turned myself in the next day (Rule 18-2b).

8. I carried a nonconforming club in my bag (Rule 4-3a).

9. I left the scoring area with my scorecard (Rule 6-6b).

Player

A. David Frost
B. Paula Creamer
C. Kevin Stadler
D. Alex Cejka
E. Wendy Doolan
F. David Toms
G. Erica Blasberg
H. Dean Wilson
I. Todd Fisher

Answers 1-H; 2-D; 3-A; 4-I; 5-B; 6-E; 7-F; 8-C; 9-G

PHOTOCOURTESY OF ABC (GLOVER) TWO PHOTOSERICK W. RASCO (WOOD, 2)DAVID BERGMAN (BACKGROUND) ¬†• Regular
• Long
PHOTODARREN CARROLL THREE PHOTOSSTEVE GRAYSON/WIREIMAGE.COM (DOOLAN, FROST, STADLER) PHOTOAL MESSERSCHMIDT/PGATOURIMAGES.COM (CEJKA) PHOTOROBERT BECK (TOMS) PHOTOALLAN CAMPBELL/WIREIMAGE.COM (BLASBERG) PHOTODENIS POROY/AP (WILSON) PHOTOTOM HAUCK/WIREIMAGE.COM (FISHER) PHOTOMICKEY PFLEGER (SPECTATOR) PHOTODARREN CARROLL Wie

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN
Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)