Big Play

March 25, 2007

WHO: VijaySingh

WHAT: 294-yardshot from the fairway with a driver

WHERE: 580-yardpar-5 12th hole at the Bay Hill Club

WHEN: Final roundof the Arnold Palmer Invitational

WHY

Singh's decisionto hit a driver off the deck--a disappearing art because today's pros hit it sofar--was a great choice. Singh practices the shot so he can get as close to thegreen as possible on long par-5s, even if it might get him in trouble. Theaggressiveness works for him; last year he ranked third in par-5 scoring. At 12he yanked his second shot behind a tree but pitched through the branches to 20feet and sank the birdie putt.

MICHAEL'S TIP

Driver off theDeck? Choke Down, Open Up

Yes, the clubheadlooks much larger than the ball when you're hitting a driver off the fairway,but don't be intimidated--that's an advantage. Today's bigger heads have lowercenters of gravity, which makes it easier to get the ball in the air. Put theball a little more forward than you would off the tee, choke down on the gripand try to keep the club face slightly open through impact.

Michael Breedteaches at Sunningdale Country Club in Scarsdale, N.Y.

... AND ANOTHERTHING

"The Tour iskilling golf. While other sports are creating more offense to spur interest,the Tour is making courses too darn hard."

ANSWERS

Who Am I? ... C)Steve Elkington (left)

Trivia Ok-Hee Kuwas the first Korean to play on the LPGA (1986) and win an event, the '88Standard Register Turquoise Classic (Safeway International).

KeyboardQueens

Two weeks agoRosie Jones rolled out a new website (rosiejones.com), which prompted the LPGAto post a list of all its members who had ventured into cyberspace. The rosterstretched to an astounding 50 sites (guess those branding coaches are reallypaying off), though there was nothing from Karrie (World Wide) Webb. In a questto save you the effort of sifting through the great mass of favorite-movieconfessions and lackluster updates from the road (unless you want to), GOLFPLUS has compiled our first (and probably only) SI LPGA Webbie Awards. Theenvelopes, please....


Award Winner Address Why
Best Photos Natalie Gulbis nataliegulbis.com Fiesta Bowl, Billboard Awards, Oscars, etc.
Most Techie Erica Blasberg ericablasberg.com Lots of Flash animation, music, pull-down menus, oooh!
Most Derivative Erica Blasberg ericablasberg.com Very close copy of Gulbis's site, with more bells and whistles
Best URL Kelly Cap gocappy.com Not a household name, but one you can't help but pull for
Most Basic Jeanne Cho-Hunicke jeannechogolf.com One page, three photos, a few facts
Most Confessional Dorothy Delasin dorothydelasin.com She likes "oldies to set the mood"
Most Geriatric Wendy Doolan wendydoolan.com Favorite link: Sweet Relief pain cream
Best Insider Tip Lorena Ochoa lorenaochoa.com Favorite vacation spots in Mexico: Tapalpa, San Juan de Alima
Funniest Bio Jen Hanna jenhanna.com "I have two brothers. Not really sure what their names are"
Most Religious Tracy Hanson tracyhanson.com Has a page of favorite Scripture quotes and Bible study books
Least Newsy Amy Hung amyhung.com The news section is blank
Most Navel Exposure Paula Marti paulamarti.com She's a big fan of the bare midriff
Most Surprising Cause Nicole Jeray nicolejeray.com The Narcolepsy Network (she's a sufferer)
Best E-commerce Nancy Lopez nancylopezgolf.com Can buy anything from a purse to a pink golf bag


GOLF MAGAZING TOP 100 TEACHER'S POLL

In only his third Tour start in '07, Tiger Woods blew up at Bay Hill. Is herusty or is something wrong?

Rusty 81%

Wrong 19%

"The only way to get tournament sharp is to playtournaments."

--KEITH LYFORD, AUBURN COUNTRY CLUB

PHOTOCOURTESY OF NBC (SINGH) TWO PHOTOSERICK W. RASCO (BACKGROUND, BREED, 2) PHOTODON ARNOLD/WIREIMAGE.COM (GULBIS) PHOTODARREN CARROLL (BLASBERG) PHOTOSTEVE GRAYSON/WIREIMAGE.COM (OCHOA) PHOTOCOURTESY OF NANCYLOPEZGOLF.COM (BAG) PHOTOMARC FELDMAN/WIREIMAGE.COM (ELKINGTON) PHOTOFRED VUICH (WOODS)

HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
OUT
HOLE YARDS PAR R1 R2 R3 R4
IN
Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)