Florida State coach Sue Semrau yells instructions to her team during the first half of an NCAA college basketball game against Miami in Coral Gables, Fla., Sunday, March 1, 2015. (AP Photo/J Pat Carter)
J Pat Carter
March 04, 2015

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) Notre Dame's Jewell Loyd is the Atlantic Coast Conference's women's basketball player of the year.

The league on Wednesday announced its individual award winners as determined by a panel of media members and school representatives.

The panel selected Florida State's Sue Semrau as the coach of the year and Notre Dame's Brianna Turner as the freshman of the year.

Shot-blocking Duke center Elizabeth Williams was picked as the league's defensive player of the year for an unprecedented fourth straight year while the Seminoles' Shakayla Thomas was chosen as the top sixth player.

Loyd averages a league-leading 20.7 points while leading No. 2 Notre Dame to the top seed in this week's ACC tournament. Semrau guided Florida State to the No. 2 seed.

You May Like