UConn women dominate American Conference awards

UNCASVILLE, Conn. (AP) Connecticut has four players on the American Athletic Conference's women's basketball first team.

UConn's Breanna Stewart, Kaleena-Mosqueda-Lewis and Moriah Jefferson were unanimous choices, as was USF's Courtney Williams. UConn's Morgan Tuck, and East Carolina's Jada Payne also made the team.

UConn's Kiah Stokes was named defensive player of the year and Jefferson was selected the leagues' most improved player.

UConn freshman Gabby Williams and Tulsa's Ashley Clark shared the sixth player of the year award, while Williams took home the league's sportsmanship award.

East Carolina junior I'Tiana Taylor was chosen newcomer of the year.

The winners were announced Thursday in advance of this weekend's conference tournament.

The conference's player, freshman, scholar-athlete and coach of the year will be announced on Friday.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.