SIU-Edwardsville's Shronda Butts OVC player coach of year

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) Shronda Butts of SIU-Edwardsville has been named the Ohio Valley Conference player of the year, and UT Martin's Kevin McMillan has been voted the league's coach of the year.

The OVC announced the league's award winners Tuesday night.

Butts, the preseason player of the year, led the OVC averaging 21 points a game. She is the first player from SIU-Edwardsville to be named player of the year.

McMillan joined Teresa Phillips of Tennessee State as the only coaches to win the OVC award in back-to-back years. This is McMillan's third overall award after coaching UT Martin (21-8) to a third straight regular season title.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.