UConn's Geno Auriemma wins AP Coach of the Year for 8th time

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) UConn's Geno Auriemma is The Associated Press Coach of the Year in women's college basketball for the eighth time.

He received 16 votes Saturday from the 32-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25 poll. Scott Rueck of Oregon State and Muffet McGraw of Notre Dame were second with three votes each.

UConn has won 73 straight games and Auriemma stands two victories from winning a record 11th national championship. That would move him past UCLA men's coach John Wooden for the most in college basketball history.

Auriemma also won AP coaching honors in 1995, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2009 and 2011.

Voting was done before the NCAA Tournament.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.