Connecticut's Breanna Stewart (30) shoots during college basketball practice at the women's Final Four in the NCAA Tournament Saturday, April 2, 2016, in Indianapolis. (AP Photo/AJ Mast)
AJ Mast
April 02, 2016

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) UConn's Breanna Stewart is The Associated Press Player of the Year in women's college basketball for a record third time.

Stewart was a unanimous choice Saturday, the first time that's happened since the first award in 1995. Ralph Sampson of Virginia was the only men's basketball player to win the award three times.

Voting was done before the NCAA Tournament and by the 32-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25 poll.

Stewart won the award as a sophomore and junior as well and has helped UConn to victories in its past 73 games. She is the only women's basketball player with 400 assists and 400 blocks for her career. She has won 149 games over the past four seasons. Two more wins will give her four championships and the most victories ever.

You May Like