Alexis Peterson (1) of Syracuse collides with Virginia Tech defender Kendyl Brooks (10)in the second half of an NCAA college basketball game in Blacksburg, Va., Sunday, Jan. 29, 2017. Syracuse won the game 82-72. (Matt Gentry/The Roanoke Times via AP)
AP Photo
March 01, 2017

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) Syracuse guard Alexis Peterson is the women's basketball player of the year in the Atlantic Coast Conference, while North Carolina State's Wes Moore is the coach of the year.

The ACC on Wednesday announced its individual award winners. A panel of school representatives and media members also selected Georgia Tech's Francesca Pan as freshman of the year.

In a separate vote, league coaches picked Notre Dame's Brianna Turner as the defensive player of the year for the second straight year and also chose Florida State center Chatrice White as the top reserve.

Peterson averaged a league-best 23.6 points for the 21st-ranked Orange (20-9). Moore became the first N.C. State coach to win the women's award, leading the Wolfpack (22-7) to the No. 4 seed in this week's ACC Tournament.

You May Like