South Carolina forward A'ja Wilson (22) holds the trophy as she celebrates with teammates after defeating Mississippi State in an NCAA college basketball game during the Southeastern Conference tournament on Sunday, March 5, 2017, in Greenville, S.C. Wils
Rainier Ehrhardt
March 08, 2017

ATLANTA (AP) A'ja Wilson of South Carolina repeated as player of the year, Alabama freshman Jordan Lewis took the newcomer award and Missouri's Robin Pingeton claimed the coaching honor on The Associated Press All-Southeastern women's basketball team announced Wednesday.

Wilson was a unanimous choice as the league's top player for the second year in a row after leading the No. 4 Gamecocks (27-4) to their third straight SEC championship . The junior forward ranks third in scoring (17.6 points per game), fourth in field-goal percentage (58.7), ninth in rebounding (7.6) and first in blocks (2.6).

Despite missing two games with a sprained ankle, Wilson also claimed a spot on the first team for the third consecutive season, joined by another unanimous selection, Kentucky's Makayla Epps, along with Missouri's Sophie Cunningham, Mississippi State's Victoria Vivians and Florida's Ronni Williams

Pingeton was named on every ballot for coach of the year, her reward for guiding the Tigers to a 21-10 mark that included an 11-5 finish in the SEC - the school's first winning mark against conference foes since joining in 2012.

Lewis, a 5-foot-7 point guard, stood out on one of the SEC's weaker teams. She averaged 9.7 points per game and ranked fifth in the league in assists (4.0).

The 2017 AP All-SEC women's team, with name, school, position, height, class and hometown (u-denotes unanimous selections):



u-Makayla Epps, Kentucky, G, 5-10, Sr. , Lebanon, Kentucky

u-A'ja Wilson, South Carolina, F, 6-5, Jr., Hopkins, South Carolina

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri, G, 6-1, So., Columbia, Missouri

Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State, F, 6-1, Jr., Carthage, Mississippi

Ronni Williams, Florida, F, 6-0, Sr., Daytona Beach, Florida


Alaina Coates, South Carolina, C, 6-4, Sr., Irmo, South Carolina

Diamond DeShields, Tennessee, G, 6-1, Jr., Norcross, Georgia

Curtyce Knox, Texas A&M, G, 5-7, Sr., Humble, Texas

Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky, F, 6-3, Sr., Lagos, Nigeria

Mercedes Russell, Tennessee, C, 6-6, Jr., Springfield, Oregon

Morgan William, Mississippi State, G, 5-5, Jr., Birmingham, Alabama


Player of the Year - u-A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

Coach of the Year - u-Robin Pingeton, Missouri

Newcomer of the Year - Jordan Lewis, Alabama


AP All-SEC Voting Panel:

David Cloninger, The State (Columbia, South Carolina); Dylan Dixon, The Independent Florida Alligator; Dan Fleser, Knoxville News-Sentinel (Tennessee); Adam Minichino, The Commercial Dispatch (Memphis, Tennessee); Scott Rabalais, The Advocate (Baton Rouge, Louisiana); Jen Smith, Lexington Herald-Leader (Kentucky); Dana Sulonen, Opelika-Auburn News (Alabama);


Follow Paul Newberry on Twitter at . His work can be found at .


For more AP college basketball coverage:

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)