Geno Auriemma wins AP Coach of the Year for the ninth time

Publish date:

DALLAS (AP) UConn's Geno Auriemma is The Associated Press' women's college basketball Coach of the Year for the ninth time.

Auriemma has guided his team to an undefeated season so far and the Huskies have won 111 consecutive games overall.

This might be Auriemma's best coaching job as he lost three All-Americans to graduation from last year's team that won a fourth consecutive national championship.

He was presented the award Thursday after receiving 26 of the votes from a 33-member national media panel. The balloting was done before the NCAA Tournament.

Oregon State's Scott Rueck was second with three votes while Drake's Jennie Baranczyk received two. Duke's Joanne P. McCallie and Mississippi State's Vic Schaefer each received one vote.