Skip to main content

Allyssa DeHaan Named to Naismith Trophy Watch List

DeHaan one of 50 players on national player of the year watch list.


ATLANTA - Sophomore center Allyssa DeHaan is one of 50 players to be named to the Naismith Trophy preseason watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Tuesday afternoon. DeHaan is also on watch lists for the Wade Trophy and the Wooden Award. DeHaan leads the nation in blocked shots with 54 and ranks among the Big Ten leaders in free-throw percentage (second at .902), scoring (fifth with 17.0 ppg), field-goal percentage (fifth at .559), and rebounding (sixth with 8.1 rpg).


Scroll to Continue

Read More

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball’s players of the year. The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its preseason criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2007-08 campaign. There are 27 seniors, 18 juniors and five sophomores on the list, which does not include incoming freshmen, who will be considered in the first ballot in January, 2008.


In January, the Naismith Trophy voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, will narrow its preseason list to the top 30 players in the nation. Those players will be eligible for the final ballot in March. In April, the Naismith Trophy winner will be recognized at the NCAA Women’s Final Four in Tampa, Fla.


For more information on the Naismith Trophy, visit