Skip to main content

After months of speculations and leaks, an official tweet from Fortnite has revealed that a new ranked mode is coming to the battle royale.

Epic Games has released an official blog post detailing its ranked overhaul. The blog reads that battle royale and Zero Build will both be given a ranked option come v24.40. The modes that now have a ranked option include:

Battle Royale

  • Solo
  • Duos
  • Squads

Zero Build

  • Duos

The new ranks for these modes are as follows:

  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Elite
  • Champion
  • Unreal

Bronze through Diamond will have three tiers each. Elite, Champion, and Unreal will just have one.

The debut of ranked in v24.40 will be known as Ranked Season Zero. This ranked season will last until the end of Chapter 4 Season 3.

According to the post, “We’ll be using this time to make any adjustments to issues and concerns that arise, while also working on additional features and overall improvements for when Ranked starts following the normal Battle Royale Season schedule.”

The End of Arena

Competitive players have been calling for considerable changes to Arena Mode for a while now. Instead, Epic Games is discontinuing Arena starting in v24.40.

Instead, grinders should focus on playing ranked matches. In the next battle royale season, your rank will make you eligible for Epic-hosted tournaments. This includes any size tournaments from Icon Series Cups to the FNCS.

The players that come out on top of each ranked season must reach a few other requirements to qualify. But these will change from tournament to tournament.