Black College Football Hall Of Fame Celebrates Seven Inductees, Deacon Jones Trophy Co-Winners Richard And Moussa

The 15th Black College Football Hall of Fame Class induction ceremony will include seven inductees and a special presentation to Deacon Jones Trophy winners, Davius Richard and Jeremy Moussa.
Black College Football Hall of Fame | Class of 2024
Black College Football Hall of Fame | Class of 2024 / Black College Football Hall of Fame | Class of 2024 | HBCU Legends

Tonight's highly anticipated enshrinement ceremony of the 15th Class of the Black College Hall of Fame will feature seven HBCU legends. The names of the honorees include Joe "747 Adams (Tennessee State University), Antoine Bethea (Howard University), Waymond Bryant (Tennessee State University), Kevin Dent (Jackson State University), Richard Huntley (Winston-Salem State University), Lemar Parrish (Lincoln University), and Coach Eddie Hurt (Morgan State University).   


"It's our 15th year," Doug Williams said to HBCU Legends. "The fact that we can still do this another year and honor the guys that rightly deserve to be honored, who hadn't been honored in the past. It's such a great event, and we're just glad to be able to do this for them."

One hundred eighteen players, coaches, and legendary figures have been inducted into the Black College Football Hall of Fame. Of those, sixty-seven are living legends, and thirty-five will attend this evening's ceremony.

Black College Football Hall of Fame, Class of 2024
Black College Football Hall of Fame, Class of 2024 / Black College Football Hall of Fame

Doug Williams reminisced about battling Joe "747 Adams in a hard-fought game between Grambling State and Tennessee State. "Joey "747" was a freshman at Tennessee State during my senior year. That was the only game I lost. It was a rainy night in Tennessee, and Joey "747" beat us by seven points."

James "Shack" Harris and Doug Williams have dedicated significant time and effort to establish the Black College Football Hall of Fame and HBCU Legacy Bowl. Their unwavering appreciation for past and future HBCU legends has left an indelible mark on the history of black collegiate football.

The Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will begin at 7 PM ET at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia. NFL Network's respected journalist Steve Wyche and prominent analyst Charles Davis will be tonight's emcees.

Davius Richard and Jeremy Moussa
Davius Richard and Jeremy Moussa / Davius Richard and Jeremy Moussa, Co-Black College Football Hall of Fame Player Of The Year Award Recipients


In addition to remembering the glorious past players who have laid the foundation for today's student-athletes, two notable young quarterbacks will pick up hardware at the event. Davius Richard (North Carolina Central University) and Jeremy Moussa (Florida A&M University) will receive the Deacon Jones Trophy for being named the Co-Black College Football Players of the Year in 2023. The award recognizes the most outstanding football player who exemplifies a rich tradition of athletic excellence and integrity associated with HBCUs.

"I'm thrilled to be picking up the Black College Football Player of the Year Award tonight," Davius Richard told HBCU Legends. "It's an incredible honor and testament to the hard work and dedication that has gone into this season and my career at NCCU. Being recognized by the Black College Football Hall of Fame is truly special, and I am deeply grateful for the support from my coaches, teammates, and fans. I'm looking forward to celebrating this milestone with everyone tonight."

Davius Richard helped the North Carolina Central University Eagles win nine games. He finished the 2023 season with a conference-best 2,177 passing yards and 21 touchdown passes. He also led the Eagles in rushing touchdowns with 18, breaking the school's single-season record. Richard was named the 2023 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Offensive Player of the Year and selected as the MVP of the 2024 Allstate HBCU Legacy Bowl.

Jeremy Moussa led the Florida A&M University Rattlers to the 2023 Black College Football National Championship, finishing with a 12-1 record (8-0 in conference). He finished the season with 214 completions for 2,893 passing yards and 22 touchdown passes. Moussa was named the 2023 Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) Offensive Player of the Year and selected for the 2024 Allstate HBCU Legacy Bowl.

Published |Modified
Kyle T. Mosley


I am Kyle T. Mosley, the Founder, Managing Editor, and Chief Reporter for the HBCU Legends, Saints News Network, and Pelicans Scoop on FanNation a Sports Illustrated team channel since October 2019.  Morehouse Alum, McDonogh #35 Roneagles (NOLA), Drum Major of the Tenacious Four.  My Father, Mother, Grandmother, Aunts and Uncles were HBCU graduates! Host of "Blow the Whistle" HBCU Legends, "The Quad" with Coach Steward, and "Bayou Blitz" Podcasts. Radio/Media Appearances:  WWL AM/FM Radio in New Orleans (Mike Detillier/Bobby Hebert),  KCOH AM 1230 in Houston (Ralph Cooper), WBOK AM in New Orleans (Reggie Flood/Ro Brown), and 103.7FM "The Game" (Jordy Hultberg/Clint Domingue), College Kickoff Unlimited (Emory Hunt), Jeff Lightsly Show, and Offscript TV on YouTube. Television Appearance: Fox26 in Houston on The Isiah Carey Factor, College Kickoff Unlimited (Emory Hunt). My Notable Interviews:  Byron Allen (Media Mogul), Deion Sanders (Jackson State University, Head Coach), Tomekia Reed (Jackson State Lady Tigers Basketball Coach), Taylor Rooks (NBA Reporter), Swin Cash (VP of Basketball - New Orlean Pelicans), Demario and Tamala Davis (NFL Player), Jerry Rice (Hall of Famer), Doug Williams (HBCU & NFL Legend), Emmitt Smith (Hall of Famer), James "Shack" Harris (HBCU & NFL Legend), Cris Carter (Hall of Famer), Solomon Wilcots (SiriusXM NFL Host), Steve Wyche (NFL Network), Jim Trotter (NFL Network), Travis Williams (Founder of HBCU All-Stars, LLC), Malcolm Jenkins (NFL Player), Cam Jordan (NFL), Demario Davis (NFL), Allan Houston (NBA All-Star), Drew Brees (Former NFL QB), Deuce McAllister (Former NFL RB), Willie Roaf (NFL Hall of Fame), Jim Everett (Former NFL Player), Quinn Early (Former NFL Player), Dr. Reef (NFL Players' Trainer Specialist), Nataria Holloway (VP of the NFL). I am building a new team of journalists, podcasters, videographers, and interns.  For media requests, interviews, or interest in joining HBCU Legends, please contact me at Follow me: