HBCU Football Legends Gathered At The 15th Black College Football Hall Of Fame Ceremony To Enshrine 7 New Inductees

Legends of HBCU football's past and present were in attendance at the 2024 Black College Football Hall of Fame's Induction Ceremony.
Doug Williams, James "Shack" Harris, And Mel Blount
Doug Williams, James "Shack" Harris, And Mel Blount / Credit: 2024 Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

HBCU football legends gathered at the 2024 Black College Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony in Atlanta, Georgia, on Saturday, June 8. The collection of greats included two Super Bowl MVPs, five Pro Football Hall of Fame inductees, 16 Super Bowl Champions, and hundreds of National Black College Football, MEAC, SWAC, SIAC, and CIAA championships.

HBCU National Championship-winning quarterbacks Davis Richard of NCCU, and Florida A&M's Jeremy Moussa were the recipients of the 2023 Co-Black College Player of the Year award named after Deacon Jones.

Last night's festivities marked the fifteenth class to be enshrined in the Black College Football Hall of Fame, which was founded by Doug Williams and James "Shack" Harris.

2024 Black College Football Hall of Fame Ceremony
2024 Black College Football Hall of Fame Ceremony / Credit: BCFHOF

Photographed were the following HBCU football legends and greats (Induction year in parentheses):

  • Joe Adams, Tennessee State (2024)
  • Willard Bailey, Virginia Union, Norfolk State, Saint Paul's (VA), Virginia–Lynchburg (2021)
  • Antoine Bethea, Howard (2024)
  • Mel Blount, Southern (2011)
  • Waymond Bryant, Tennessee State (2024)
  • Harry Carson, South Carolina State (2012)
  • Ben Coates, Livingstone College (2022)
  • Greg Coleman, Florida A&M (2021)
  • Kevin Dent, Jackson State (2024)
  • Richard Dent, Tennessee State (2015)
  • Parnell Dickinson, Mississippi Valley State (2017)
  • Leslie Frazier, Alcorn State (2023)
  • Jimmy Giles, Alcorn State (2021)
  • James "Shack" Harris, Grambling State (2012)
  • Thomas Henderson, Langston (2018)
  • Richard Huntley, Winston-Salem State (2024)
  • Harold Jackson, Jackson State (2019)
  • Ed "Too Tall" Jones, Tennessee State (2013)
  • Henry Lawrence, Florida A&M (2023)
  • Frank Lewis, Grambling State (2019)
  • Greg Lloyd, Fort Valley State (2018)
  • Charlie Neal (2013); Timmy Newsome, Winston-Salem State (2019)
  • Nate Newton, Florida A&M (2022)
  • Lamar Parrish, Lincoln (2024)
  • Robert Porcher, Tennessee State, South Carolina State (2017)
  • Joe Taylor Howard, Virginia Union, Hampton, Florida A&M (2020)
  • Dennis Thomas, Alcorn State, MEAC (2020)
  • Everson Walls, Grambling State (2018)
  • Johnnie Walton, Elizabeth City State (2023)
  • Sammy White, Grambling State (2022)
  • Erik Williams, Central State (2011)
  • Doug Williams, Grambling State (2011)
  • Aeneas Williams, Southern (2016)

Kyle T. Mosley


I am Kyle T. Mosley, the Founder, Managing Editor, and Chief Reporter for the HBCU Legends, Saints News Network, and Pelicans Scoop on FanNation a Sports Illustrated team channel since October 2019.  Morehouse Alum, McDonogh #35 Roneagles (NOLA), Drum Major of the Tenacious Four.  My Father, Mother, Grandmother, Aunts and Uncles were HBCU graduates! Host of "Blow the Whistle" HBCU Legends, "The Quad" with Coach Steward, and "Bayou Blitz" Podcasts. Radio/Media Appearances:  WWL AM/FM Radio in New Orleans (Mike Detillier/Bobby Hebert),  KCOH AM 1230 in Houston (Ralph Cooper), WBOK AM in New Orleans (Reggie Flood/Ro Brown), and 103.7FM "The Game" (Jordy Hultberg/Clint Domingue), College Kickoff Unlimited (Emory Hunt), Jeff Lightsly Show, and Offscript TV on YouTube. Television Appearance: Fox26 in Houston on The Isiah Carey Factor, College Kickoff Unlimited (Emory Hunt). My Notable Interviews:  Byron Allen (Media Mogul), Deion Sanders (Jackson State University, Head Coach), Tomekia Reed (Jackson State Lady Tigers Basketball Coach), Taylor Rooks (NBA Reporter), Swin Cash (VP of Basketball - New Orlean Pelicans), Demario and Tamala Davis (NFL Player), Jerry Rice (Hall of Famer), Doug Williams (HBCU & NFL Legend), Emmitt Smith (Hall of Famer), James "Shack" Harris (HBCU & NFL Legend), Cris Carter (Hall of Famer), Solomon Wilcots (SiriusXM NFL Host), Steve Wyche (NFL Network), Jim Trotter (NFL Network), Travis Williams (Founder of HBCU All-Stars, LLC), Malcolm Jenkins (NFL Player), Cam Jordan (NFL), Demario Davis (NFL), Allan Houston (NBA All-Star), Drew Brees (Former NFL QB), Deuce McAllister (Former NFL RB), Willie Roaf (NFL Hall of Fame), Jim Everett (Former NFL Player), Quinn Early (Former NFL Player), Dr. Reef (NFL Players' Trainer Specialist), Nataria Holloway (VP of the NFL). I am building a new team of journalists, podcasters, videographers, and interns.  For media requests, interviews, or interest in joining HBCU Legends, please contact me at kmosley@hbcusi.com. Follow me: