Joe Burrow Breaks LSU Single-Season Touchdown Record

Glen West

Senior quarterback Joe Burrow made history Saturday afternoon in Starkville, passing Jamarcus Russell and Matt Mauck for most touchdowns in a single-season by an LSU quarterback.

Burrow now has 29 touchdown passes in seven games and is set to shatter the previous record held by Mauck and Russell, who both passed for 28 touchdowns in the 2003 and 2006 seasons respectively.

LSU eventually won the national championship in that 2003 season while the 2006 team finished 11-2 with a Sugar Bowl win over Brady Quinn and Notre Dame.

Burrow broke the record in the third quarter on an 18-yard touchdown pass to receiver Justin Jefferson, the ninth time this season the two have teamed up for a touchdown. That touchdown put the Tigers up 36-7 in the third quarter.

The senior quarterback also threw touchdown passes to Racey McMath and Ja'Marr Chase in the first half and to Derrick Dillon in the third quarter.

Considered a Heisman favorite entering Saturday's game, Burrow is also on pace to break the NCAA single-season completion record, held by former Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan at 70.4 %. Burrow is currently completing 79.6 % of his passes in 2019.

Comments (1)
No. 1-1
J Hager
J Hager

Tua vs Burrow will determine the Heisman