Skip to main content

(This article was generated by Oklahoma State Athletics Media Relations)

STILLWATER -- Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard has been named one of 20 semifinalists for the 2019 Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, Maxwell Football Club President Mark Dianno, announced Tuesday.

The candidates were selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee, in partnership with Pro Football Focus (PFF) and Phil Steele Publications.

Hubbard has had an outstanding season through eight games. He leads the nation in nearly every statistical rushing category, including rushing yards, rushing yards per game, all-purpose yards, yards after contact (via PFF) and more. His average of 172.6 rushing yards per game is 33.8 more than second-place J.K. Dobbins of Ohio State, and his rushing yards and yards per carry through eight games are better than three of the past four running backs to win the Heisman Trophy.

Semifinalist voting for the award will begin on Wednesday, Oct 30, and will close on Nov. 24. Three finalists for each award will be announced on Nov. 25 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directions and selected national media.

The winner of the 83rd Maxwell Award will be announced as art of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards presented by Gildan, which will be broadcast live on ESPN on Dec. 12. The formal presentation of this award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Award Dinner on Friday, March 6, 2020, at the Tropicana Casino & Resort in Atlantic City, New Jersey.